That’s Change, Not More Of The Same

November 10, 2008

Via Andrew, I wake up to read something about Guantanamo Bay that doesn’t make me want to rip my hair out:

“President-elect Obama’s advisers are quietly crafting a proposal to ship dozens, if not hundreds, of imprisoned terrorism suspects to the United States to face criminal trials, a plan that would make good on his promise to close the Guantanamo Bay prison”

It’s good to see Obama actually following through on this one.  By about 3pm last Wednesday, I was starting to worry whether there was actually going to be any “change” where we needed it.  And while the “controversial new system of justice” had me worried at first (and still nervous, to be perfectly honest), finishing off that article was a little reassuring.  I’m no expert in legal history, but I presume we’ve done things similar to this before that haven’t ended in an unnecessary abrogation of rights, correct?

But what a relief it is when the President-elect’s legal advisor is saying something like this for a change:

“We can’t put people in a dungeon forever without processing whether they deserve to be there.”

3 Responses to “That’s Change, Not More Of The Same”

  1. Jamelle Says:

    I was also pretty relieved to see that Obama is serious about closing Guantanamo. Though, I’m still fairly skeptical about Obama’s willingness to completely relinquish the powers Bush abrogated to himself.

  2. JL Wall Says:

    Yeah, that’s part of why I was so frustrated this summer with Obama’s stance on FISA and telecom immunity. And there’s always reason to doubt that anyone presented with such a powerful presidency would want to relinquish those powers on assuming them. I’m worried that there’s no true going back when it comes to Executive Power, but I’m willing to hope–at least for the next few months.


  3. […] said that the party is likely to govern from the center, and I guess if I’m in the business of reading too muchinto the words of Obama advisers, I shouldn’t take that with more salt than necessary… […]


Leave a Reply

